The FastDay Forum

Weight Maintenance

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Two Questions on 16/8
16 May 2013, 12:13
I'm a little way off maintenance, but I'm thinking of giving 16/8 a go to maintain when I get there. My first question is - is the 8 hour eating window supposed to be the same every day, or can it be switched from time to time? I can handle doing without breakfast and just having lunch and dinner say, 6 days of the week, but on Sundays we're more likely to have an egg and bacon breakfast followed by a decent lunch and no dinner. Would that do damage to the plan?

My other question is - if you're not eating breakfast, does skim milk in coffee or tea outside of the 8 hour eating window do damage?

Thanks!
Re: Two Questions on 16/8
16 May 2013, 13:43
Disclaimer: I'm no expert. I've only been doing 16:8 for a couple of months now for the health benefits, for which I have no measure.

My sense is that the eating window should be fairly similar from day to day. Otherwise, if there are frequent large variations, you don't get as many days with a fast of at least 16 hours. Your plan looks very reasonable to me. It may even turn out that a day or two a week of deviation has a positive effect. Why not give it a go and see how it works?

As to the question about skim milk in tea or coffee, I've always thought that any calories aside from perhaps lemon in water would break a fast, but I've seen contrary opinions. I should imagine that a couple of coffees with a splash of skim milk wouldn't make an appreciable difference to weight loss.
16 May 2013, 17:20
I am thinking about trying this, does it work for weight loss or just maintenance? 5:2 worked for the first few weeks but now I am gaining weight. I think getting that hungry on fast days leads me to overeat on other days. Maybe if I just had a daily hour restriction I wouldn't go so crazy... plus it would be easier to never have to count calories. I'd be interested to see if it works better for weight loss.
16 May 2013, 20:45